Skip to main content
WVU has announced plans for on-campus classes this fall, with base tuition and fees unchanged. Visit the Return to Campus website for the latest.

Reed College of Media

Associate & Regular Graduate Faculty Members

(Updated October 2019)

Regular Graduate Faculty

Joel Beeson, Ph.D.
Bob Britten, Ph.D.
Dana Coester, M.A.
Rita Colistra, Ph.D.
Gina Martino Dahlia, M.S.J.
Jasper Fessman, Ph.D.
Julia Daisy Fraustino, Ph.D.
Jennifer Harker, Ph.D.
Sang Lee, Ph.D.
Diana Knott Martinelli, Ph.D.
Elizabeth Oppe, Ph.D.
Geah Pressgrove, Ph.D.
Lois Raimondo, M.A.
John Temple, M.F.A.
Steve Urbanski, Ph.D.

Associate Graduate Faculty

Rick Bebout, M.S.J.
Tyler Channell, M.S.J.
Heather Cole, M.F.A.
Emily Hughes Corio, M.S.J.
Ashton Marra, M.S.
Mary Kay McFarland, M.A.
Catherine Mezera, M.S.J.
Chad Mezera, M.S.J.
David Smith, M.A.

Reed College of Media
Standards of Graduate Faculty Membership

Revised Aug. 17, 2015

  1. Regular Members
    1. Functions
      Regular members can chair or direct master's project and theses and doctoral research (i.e. if they are asked to serve on dissertation committees at other units). They also can serve on graduate degree committees and committees administering graduate programs.
    2. Minimum Criteria for Appointment
      1. Regular members generally hold appointments in tenure-track positions. Non-tenure-track faculty or those holding faculty-equivalent positions and who are engaged in scholarly research or creative activity may be considered for regular membership.
      2. Regular members must present evidence of continuing scholarly research activity. “Continuing” scholarship criteria usually include one or more of the following: publication in peer-reviewed journals, publication of books and book chapters, invited and/or competitively selected presentations of scholarly work at national and international meetings, and presentations and performance of creative work at professional recognized events. The evidence should be part of the faculty member’s yearly self-evaluation file, which is viewed by the college’s tenure and promotion committee, the dean, and/or the associate dean.
  2. Associate Members
    1. Functions
      Associate members may perform the same function as regular members, except that they may not chair graduate degree committees or direct master’s theses.
    2. Minimum Criteria
      Minimum criteria for appointment will be a master's degree and one or more of the following, as evaluated by the tenure and promotions committee, dean, and/or associate dean of the Reed College of Media:
      1. Scholarly presentations or creative work.
      2. Scholarly publications and/or other research activity.
      3. Graduate-level teaching, and service on graduate committees.
  3. Exceptions
    The following individuals must meet the same criteria as other faculty members for review, approval, and continuation as do tenure-track graduate faculty.
    1. Emeritus faculty members may remain on the graduate faculty, subject to review.
    2. Graduate faculty members who leave the Reed College of Media may continue to serve on thesis/project committees with their same graduate faculty status established prior to their departure.
    3. Non-tenure track faculty members, who are not regular graduate faculty members: These faculty members may chair professional project committees if they meet the following criteria:
      1. They must have at least two years of experience in an academic setting that included teaching experience. Other relevant and substantial professional experience - of more than three years - can satisfy this requirement as well.
      2. They must have served as a committee member on a minimum of TWO professional project and/or thesis committees.
      3. The project committee they chair must include at least one tenured or tenure-track faculty member from the Reed College of Media.
  4. Implementation
    1. Evaluation of Graduate Faculty
      1. Individuals interested in being appointed to the graduate faculty must request that they be evaluated for initial membership through their supervisor. Associate members interested in being reclassified as regular members must initiate a request for evaluation in a similar manner.
      2. The Reed College of Media shall establish an appropriate time schedule for evaluating faculty for initial appointment to the graduate faculty and for changing graduate faculty status.
      3. Members of the college’s Graduate Committee will review all graduate faculty members every three years. The review is intended to assist graduate faculty members in gauging their continued progress in scholarship, research, or creative activity. The written outcome of this evaluation shall be placed in the individual's personnel file.
      4. Once every three years the graduate faculty review of an individual must be accompanied by a decision to continue or discontinue his or her current level of membership. A faculty member whose graduate faculty membership is changed to associate status as a result of review will be permitted to complete current responsibilities but may not assume additional responsibilities that are not consistent with the new status.
      5. Appeals regarding graduate faculty membership classification shall be handled through grievance procedures identified in section 5.8.2 of the West Virginia University Faculty Handbook.
    2. Students must not be affected by the re-evaluation of faculty members. Once a graduate committee has been established for a student, it will not be necessary to alter it because of a change in status of one of the faculty members on the committee.
    3. Normally, no candidate for a degree at West Virginia University may be a regular or associate member of the graduate faculty. Individuals seeking exception to this policy must notify the Reed College of Media and submit a petition to the WVU Office of Graduate Education & Life.