Skip to main content
WVU has extended alternative delivery of classes through the end of the semester. Visit for the latest updates and view a message from President Gee at

Vote for you favorite SOJ professor today!

The P.I. Reed School of Journalism announces the 6th Annual Golden Quill Teaching Awards. The purpose of the awards is to reward outstanding teaching, mentoring, and advising in the School. The awards are based solely on student nominations. This is YOUR chance to recognize a teacher who has had a positive impact on your education in the School. Two awards will be given each year:

one award for full-time faculty and/or visiting professors, and
one award for instructors who have taught a three-credit hour class for at least three semesters.

Thanks to your votes, last year’s winners were now-retired Professor Ivan Pinnell (faculty award) and Rick Bebout (instructor award)! Because they won in 2013, they are not eligible for this year’s awards. Therefore, their names are not listed on the nomination forms.

Please take the time to nominate an outstanding professor and instructor. You may only vote for each award once, and you will need to log in with your MIX account information. Make sure you hit the submit button at the end of the form.

Voting will run from Monday, Feb. 17, through Friday, Feb. 28, but take the time to vote today! Winners will be announced at the Spring Awards Ceremony and on the SOJ Web site. To vote, visit: