Skip to main content


At West Virginia University, we want the best and brightest students — not just the high scorers. Hard work, determination and grit are just as important to us as tests and GPAs.

It’s easy for first-time freshmen to qualify for our merit based scholarships. Just submit your application to WVU and we’ll review for our central awards.

Use our charts below to determine your eligibility for the Scholarship of Distinction for SAT/ACT score senders which includes College of Media scholarship awards, or the Go First Scholarship for test optional applicants.

Our admissions application and merit awarding both include a no-harm policy – students will not be penalized whether applying with scores or test optional. We also welcome changes to your test optional status and admitted students may submit scores through June 1 if electing to qualify for score sender merit awards.

And don’t forget to file the FAFSA form starting October 1 for the 2023-2024 academic cycle. You may qualify for additional need-based aid and institutional awards. Our priority deadline for the FAFSA is March 1, 2023. Residents of West Virginia applying for the PROMISE Scholarship must submit the FAFSA and PROMISE application by March 1, 2023.

Estimate Your Scholarships  Submit the FAFSA Search for External Scholarships

Scholarship of Distinction

The Scholarship of Distinction is for score senders.

Scholarship of Distinction Chart 

Go First Scholarship

The Go First Scholarship is for test optional applicants.

Go First Scholarship Chart

M.S. Marketing Communications Scholarships

The West Virginia University Reed College of Media offers a competitive scholarship specifically for students enrolled in the College’s Integrated, Data and Digital Marketing Communications graduate programs. Admitted and current students can apply during the spring and scholarships are awarded each fall. You will receive information via email and in the student dashboard. This is the first and only scholarship dedicated to online graduate students in the College of Media.